Options

Please help Regarding Security+ exam

ephoria4uephoria4u Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am a Business Analyst that has been working as a BA for security and identity access & management for the past 5 years. I love what I do but I would like to get into SOC (security operations center). My team interacts with SOC but we don't actually sit in SOC even though we have access to SIEM system they use. Someone I knew from Soc suggested that I start off as a security admin and work my way up to a security analyst. He suggested I take the security+ exam as a starter. Is there any advice that you guys can give me?

Also regarding the exam, I have been studying by watching CBT nuggets, Professor Messer's **** sheet and Gibson's book. I was all confident knowing it's a 90 minute, 90 question multiple choice exam. Unfortunately I found out there are 10 performance based questions??? So the mix and match I get. Fill in the blank I also get. I also get updating settings in routers. What I am confused about is if I am asked to perform some actions in the command prompt? Do I also need to study basic commands now? What else might they ask me to do? I have no idea. Are there any materials or videos that I can refer to, so I know what might be asked? Please help!

Comments

• Options
    tedjamestedjames Member Posts: 1,179 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I took the Security+ exam in August 2014. I did have to take some performance-based questions.
    You can find some performance-based simulations on YouTube and on Darril Gibson's paid site: Get Certified Get Ahead | Helping people Get Certified so that they can Get Ahead. Darril's site also has hundreds of standard practice questions. They really helped me prepare for and pass the test.

From what I recall, it was mostly just fill in the blank and drag-and-drop.
  • Options
    scaredoftestsscaredoftests Mod Posts: 2,780 Mod
    Pay for Darril's site. Well worth it, and it goes over the simulations.