Options

Should I be applying for entry level or high level jobs?

metalone4metalone4 Member Posts: 66 ■■□□□□□□□□
If you've seen my previous threads you'll know I'm currently unemployed, looking to boost my marketability with certs. I have over 10 years experience supporting a Windows domain/production line environment. My current certs are very old, A+ and MCP from 2002. The job I was doing was very technical, but much of the knowledge I learned 15 years ago went unused. I have what you could call IT wisdom/intuition as much as anything else, if that makes any sense.

Going into my job hunt, I will have at least these certs:

A+ (obtained 2002)
MCP (obtained 2002)
ITIL Foundation (taking the exam tonight)
Security+, VMWare, OR CCNA (I don't have any of these yet, still choosing which route to go)

I want new Microsoft certs too, but not sure if I'll have those before I start applying for jobs. I want to be well rounded, hence the broad spectrum of certs. I'd have to say I'm currently best at Windows Administration. My questions are, going into an interview, with the 4 certs listed above, how valuable or competitive will I come across, considering my prior experience? Also, should I expect to only be considered for entry level? How much salary would be realistic to expect?

I'm aware I should just apply for anything that interests me, but I'm seeking opinions and what to expect realistically.

Comments

• Options
    markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I'd apply at entry-level jobs to be employed and get current IT experience, however...If you applied to a higher level Sysadmin job, do you think you have the skills to do it? If so, then yes absolutely apply at those jobs too. The worst they can say is no.
  • Options
    markulous wrote: »