HOw to get an IT job this days

TBisaDiseaseTBisaDisease Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
things are crazy this days, just to shed some light i have an associate and bachelor degree in computer informations system(CIS) from DeVry .
however i have only seemed to land only half a handful of jobs since. No luck or just icon_redface.gif . i tried to focus on developing part as a IT developer but it is very competitive as i only have about 2 yrs in developing experience and u get thrown here and there.
Been to a coulpe of interviews maybe 5 in the two years, but there is always that we need 5 yrs exp crap.
The only luck i have had IN THE TWO YR PERIOD was a 6 months job term for a firm building a website in VB.net. after which they let me go after the project. and since then nothing in the IT career path.i have had to do stupid menial jobs on the side just to get by but its getting furstrating and i cant take it anymore. (customer support , warehouse and all those side jobs that pay less than $10/HR).
It is crazy, all this in education for nothing , now i hear this IT recriters telling me taking a certificcation will help, but there have always been excuses, either they wnt a 5yrs exp or they wnt a (mcsc cnn app a-z certification)
WHAT DO I DO?
icon_confused.gif: TIRED RIGHT ABT NOW.
BUT DO U QUIT NOW ??

So , I AM SITTING at my computer trying to take lotus notes certificatns and MCSE/MCP maybe that would help after four months of unemployment.

The IT agencies/CONSULTANTS also seem to have no job avalability.
SO WHAT A HELL IS THE IT WORLD COMING TO????????
The only calls u get are from headhunters trying to hear ur voice even though they never call back.

A Career in the healtcare/medical industry seems abt rght rght now.....
ANy ideas hope/help/suggestion furstrated chap icon_cry.gif
AA, BA (CIS)

Comments

• gojericho0gojericho0 Member Posts: 1,059 ■■■□□□□□□□
    have you considered relocating at all to an area that has more of a need?