Options

Predicament with earning or skipping my Associate's degree on the way to Bachelor's

psaechaopsaechao Member Posts: 29 ■■■□□□□□□□
I am in a Bachelor's program in Networking, but I have one more class to meet the graduation requirements for the Associate's degree in Network Admin. If I want to earn the Associate's, I would have to disenroll in my Bachelor's program and enroll in the Associate's program. Besides all the headache and paperwork, upon enrolling into the Associate's program, I would only be allowed to take that one class, as opposed to taking full-time units (if enrolled in the AS program, you can only take AS courses and nothing above). This would set me back an entire semester!

I'd really like to put on my resume that I have a college degree, but is it really worth it to postpone my Bachelor's? If I skip it, I wonder if there's a way to word it in my resume that I have 60+ credit units, which is equivalent to the Associate's, but skipped it to pursue my Bachelor's.

What are your thoughts, TE?
DeVry B.S Network and Communications Management: Completed
CCENT: Completed
CCNA R/S: 2019

Comments

• Options
    alias454alias454 Member Posts: 648 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Put the Bachelor degree on your resume with an "expected" graduation date. Ultimately, the associates doesn't matter since you are enrolled in the BS program.
    “I do not seek answers, but rather to understand the question.”
  • Options
    NicWhiteNicWhite Member Posts: 134
    Just stay in the bachelors program. It is not worth it to add to the length of time you have to stay in school.
    WGU - BS Software Development
    Start Date: 2/1/2016
    Transferred 40 / Complete 23 / Remaining 60
  • Options
    dhay13dhay13 Member Posts: 580 ■■■■□□□□□□
    agreed with the above. i have 2 A.A.S. degrees and a B.S., all in IT, and nobody cares about the A.A.S. degrees when i apply or interview
  • Options
    markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□