Options

Which one is "harder" ICND1 or ICND2

xocityxocity Member Posts: 230
Just some insight,

I took the old ICND1 exam like 2 years ago and forgot a lot of it. Ive read through ICND1 (new) chapters and found some new cool stuff but it looks like the (new)ICND1 covers a lot more info than before.

I want to finish up ICND2 in the next month or so but just wanted to get some opinions from people who have taken both. Seems like ICND2 mostly WAN tech with some STP and small switching/IPV6 vlan stuff.

Should I go back and brush up on some stuff from the new ICND1 then go deep into ICND2 or just go right into ICND2 and review anything I dont understand as I go?

Any insight would be helpful.

Thanks TE

Comments

• Options
    PCTechLincPCTechLinc Member Posts: 646 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Cisco likes to build on the previous exams, so it's a good idea to brush up on the new ICND1 stuff. I'm studying CCNA Security, and I got CCNA:R&S based on the 640-822 objectives. I did a one-through on the new ICND1/2 objectives before I started the CCNA Sec studying. A couple new objectives on the new CCNA are going to be MPLS and IOS Licensing, just as an example.
    Master of Business Administration in Information Technology Management - Western Governors University
    Master of Science in Information Security and Assurance - Western Governors University
    Bachelor of Science in Network Administration - Western Governors University
    Associate of Applied Science x4 - Heald College
  • Options
    fuz1onfuz1on Member Posts: 961 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Difficulty based on passing percentage would have ICND2 rank "harder" than ICND1. My personal opinion - though - was that ICND1 proved way tougher for me. I think once I got all the Cisco basics down - the elaboration and expansion regarding STP, OSPF and EIGRP seemed easier to fully comprehend, assimilate and synthesize. I guess the learning curve is doing its' thang... icon_cool.gif