Options

Resume - From Law Enforcement to IT

benjiewbbenjiewb Member Posts: 13 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello all,

I am currently employed as a law enforcement officer, but I am pursuing a career change to IT. Eventually, I would like to land an INFOSEC role, but I understand I must work my way up to this position. Attached is a resume I recently put together and I would appreciate any and all criticism. I do not have any IT certifications at this time, but I am currently studying to take the Security+ in the first week of March.

I am either seeking an entry level help desk or security analyst position.

This time last year I attempted the same career change, but was afforded an opportunity to attend digital forensic courses in my current agency for an anticipated forensic examiner position. This position never came about and now, once more, I am seeking to move on from law enforcement.

Thank you in advance.

Dropbox: https://www.dropbox.com/s/lexcju1rcserujn/BENJIEWB%20RESUME.pdf?dl=0BENJIEWB RESUME.pdf

The file is also attached to this message for those who prefer not using the link.
2016 Goals: Security+
Currently Working On: Security+, Reading Darril Gibson Security+: Get Certified, Get Ahead

Comments

• Options
    koz24koz24 Member Posts: 766 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Hi there,

Maybe it's just me but the summary of qualifications is hard to read with bold going on and off.

Also, once you get Security+ I would put that at the very top of the resume(and the cover letter, if you make one). You really should get A+ for Help Desk, especially with limited experience. Actually, getting the "trifecta"(A+,N+,Sec+) would be even better.

When are your realistic expectations of making this career move? You are right about working your way up in InfoSec. I don't like the odds of landing even a Junior security role with just the Security+, you'd have to get really lucky.
  • Options
    pinkydapimppinkydapimp Member Posts: 732 ■■■■■□□□□□