Options

I think it is finally time to start looking for another job

alias454alias454 Member Posts: 648 ■■■■□□□□□□
As the title says, I think it is finally time to start looking for another job. I have been working at my company for just over 5 years and have come to the conclusion; things are going to stagnate for me. I have had a pretty good run at this company and have made several internal transfers to go from working on the helpdesk to being a senior network administrator. Don't get me wrong, the company is decent to work at(not the worst, not the best), the pay is good for the area and I have the respect of my peers and management. However, where I want to go with my career, doesn't seem to be aligning(specificly, my interest in implementing better security).

I took the job at the helpdesk to get my foot in the door and everything paid off for me there. In the time since I started, I have obtained a Bachelor of Science with a concentration in security, got my vcp5-dcv, got the eJPTS, worked on the CCNA (I failed it but will circle back around), and am currently working on getting my GSEC cert. I constantly try to implement new ideas into our environment to make things better like building a pretty sophisticated logging stack, pushing for a more robust monitoring system, implementing SALT as a config management system, and currently trying to get up and running with better internal threat detection mechanisms. Some other things I have done include; moving the VMware farm from old HP hardware to a Cisco UCS environment as well as managing about 110 servers out of 350 total. With their make-up being Windows, Linux, AIX, and VMware. I also dabble in SQL, PHP, HTML, C#, Powershell, VBscript, BASH, and Java(no Perl or Python, although I have been wanting to play with Python).