Options

The job search continues (Car crash interview)

si20si20 Member Posts: 543 ■■■■■□□□□□
Sorry i've posted a few threads recently about seeking a new job. The thing is - i'm not looking for a quick 5 minute gig - i'm looking for a long term career and i'm struggling to find that kind of place. Somewhere where I can learn and grow over the next 10 years+. I currently work as a security analyst and although I detest security analyst work - I happen to be quite good at it (not to blow my own trumpet!).

So I currently do a 40 mile round trip every day to my current place of work. I found a security analyst position advertised for a large global company which was only 10 miles from me. This would reduce my mileage by 50% and pay very similar. Perfect. That I was prepared to do. So I applied for the job and was lucky enough to get a telephone interview (stage 1). I passed that with flying colours and got invited to a face to face interview (stage 2).

I turned up to the building 20 minutes prior to the interview time slot. As I got there, there was a fire alarm. I walked into the building to see if it was a drill, or whether it was a false alarm etc etc. There was no security, no fire marshal to stop me going in. I walked into the building to see reception empty, the building empty - I quickly realised, ok, this isn't a drill. I walked back to my car and called HR. HR told me to wait around and it will be ok to go in late.... first red flag (complete lack of security).

I eventually got into the interview room around 10 minutes later than planned. I was greeted by an "ITIL" woman and a "Security" gentleman for the interview. The woman asked about my background in IT. I told her how I started as 2nd line and did that for 5 years, then I told her about getting a first class degree and getting certs etc. She looked a bit confused (second red flag) but I thought nothing of it.