Options

Career Change - Banking to IT

Sasikumar.chSasikumar.ch Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi,

I need advice, suggestions, tips, steps and anything else that helps me in making the transition from Banking to IT sector.

I'm sorry if I'm posting a new thread on this topic, I did a search but didn't find suitable to my query.

Basically, I hold a B-Tech Degree (Electronics & Communication Engineering) completed in 2008 and I have 5 years of experience in various divisions of Banking domain. I have started working as Technical Support Executive (Symantec Norton 360) after my graduation but due to recession I was laid off. Due to financial circumstances, I couldn't stay unemployed so took the offer in Banking domain with a better pay too. After two years, I tried to switch and got into HP (Service Desk) and unfortunate health issues, had to quit. After 6 months, I went back to same company (Banking) in a senior role, stayed for a year there. Later went to UAE on visit visa searching for IT role, but couldn't find anything in a month's time; however, I got an Assistant Manager role in Banking domain icon_sad.gif

Now, again thinking of making a permanent move to IT backed up by some certifications/preparation (takes time I know but ready to start the transition). I am always interested in networks/servers/security etc even though I don't have experience I am confident I can learn quickly. I gave all the details about my career path because I want to make a point that my "financial condition" is also tied up with the transition. I realize that career change mostly doesn't happen with a good package, but I have read/heard people changing careers atleast at their same current package which I will absolutely happy.

Thank you so much for being patient and reading till here :) I am open to your suggestions, comments and steps to make my transition successful.

Thanks again!!!

Comments

• Options
    No_NerdNo_Nerd Banned Posts: 168