Options

Passed CISSP - 02/05/2016

drpuppydrpuppy Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey all,

I have been a long time regular of the site and have always enjoyed the information provided. However, this is my first time posting because I normally don't have the time. Just to touch on my background, I've been an IT for about 15 years or so with 12 heavily focused in Security. I am fortunate as my experience spans all but one domain on the CISSP exam thus far in my career.

As for the CISSP, a lot of the passed and failed threads helped me study for this test. After taking it, I felt like I could have passed it with minimal study but I'll break down how I'd prepare if I could do it again.

1) Use the Sybex Seventh Edition Study Guide. This book comes with a wealth of questions and extra content. The book reads well and I didn't feel it was a chore to read through it. I read through it completely once and scanned over it a second time. I did a lot of the questions that came with the extra content to building up my question stamina. I also used CCCure which were useful in identifying areas you are potentially weak on but overall I think the questions on the Sybex were better.

2) Use CCCure in last month leading up to the test and use the promotion off the Larry Greenblatt videos. I don't see this as crucial to passing but it gives you a good indication in which domains your knowledge might be lacking. For videos, I felt that the Cybrary videos were the best I watched for prepping for the exam as she made the concepts easier to visualize.