Options

Now What?! Don't know what im doing....

Renbro02Renbro02 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I am complete newbie...but hopefully not for long.
I have bought/built my CCNA Lab, which consist of: 3725 router, 1761, router, 2801 256/64 router, 1841 router, (2) 3550 switches, and a 2950-e switch

I have all the cat5e straight through cable I could need as well as cross-over cables.
The only thing is I have no idea how to actually run any labs with my newly purchased equipment. Do i need to download any programs? How do i get into the command prompt screen? How to i view what the equipment is doing/saying? do i need to buy more devices/nodes to connect to my switches to get comms? or is what?

I bought ccna courses on udemey but they don't provide this information.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Comments

• Options
    netsysllcnetsysllc Member Posts: 479 ■■■■□□□□□□
    A quick google search turns up a bunch of labs you can go through Let me google that for you There are also sites like https://www.cybrary.it/
  • Options
    clarsonclarson Member Posts: 903 ■■■■□□□□□□
    on your computer your going to need a terminal emulator and a tftp server. I use teraterm as a terminal emulator and solarwind's tftp server. There are literal 100's of free terminal emulator and tftp server programs that are available. Just google them and get something that you want to use.
    If you don't one or two console management cables, you will have to get some. They are usually a light blue in color.
    here i video about connecting the cable: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ajy2wFJsp-k
    That is a start. And, ask for more help if you need it.
  • Options
    ITsubcedITsubced Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Do you have a console cable? If not, you should get one
    Also, you may need a DB9 to USB cable with it.

Imo, you should do the following:

1) Learn how to use a terminal emulator (like Putty) with a console cable;