Options

Career Switch

DentedDented Registered Users Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi
Background: married, 3 kids. I have been a public school teacher for 10+ years and I bring home about $1,600 a month after child support. My wife is unemployed and we would like her to stay that way to raise the kids until they are school age.

Academic Background: high 20s act in early high school, perfect ASVAB score, good with math and logic.

I am need to career switch to something that can bring home significantly more money. At first I thought I would go down the CCNA path, completing the exam in a few months, and get a high paying job within a year. Now I am reading that a CCNA can land me about a $25,000 a year job.

1. Is that accurate?
2. If so, my next lead would be a code monkey, but I have also recently read that they do not make so much either.
3. Any reccomendations? I am willing to put in the effort to study, but I need a salary upgrade desperately.

Comments

• Options
    scaredoftestsscaredoftests Mod Posts: 2,780 Mod
    What area do you live in? That influences the pay scale. Also, the experience that you have helps.
    Never let your fear decide your fate....
  • Options
    Russ5813Russ5813 Member Posts: 123 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Your mileage will vary, depending on your experience, geography, and interests. You may have to bite the bullet and accept a lower-paying, entry-level IT job with the mindset that you'll see better ROI in the long-term scheme of things.
  • Options
    What area do you live in? That influences the pay scale. Also, the experience that you have helps.

Just outside of Birmingham, AL.
    Cost of living is low, but not 1,600 a month low.

How would my education experience help?

I know I have lots of questions, but I am trying to quickly map out a plan of attack. I don't want to keep beating a dead horse, and the longer I teach, the worse off my family is financially.
  • Options