Options

What to do next? Need some advice...

I'm currently doing desktop support for a smallish organization. It's me and one other guy in the team. Got my CCNA back in June of 2015 and started applying for networking jobs with no luck. dabbled with CCNP material until October when I started studying for the VCP-DCV. Didn't get to take the exam as family came down for two months in December and knocked out all of my study time.

So in two weeks they'll be gone and I'm going to hit the study game hard again. My issue is I'm at a crossroads. Long term I want to be a Network Engineer, however I'm finding it very difficult to get an entry level networking job for some experience. From what I've been hearing a CCNP with no network experience can do more harm then good, hence why I stopped studying last year. It seems like a Jr. Systems job would be easier to get and they're more abundant in my area, so I could finish the VCP and then go for the MCSA. The problem is I just don't want to be in Systems. I've also been considering a bachelors from WGU (already have an A.S. degree).

I'm just confused on what to do right now. I want to be a Network Engineer, but it's pretty much a case of you need experience to get experience. The single reason I'm not diving head first into the CCNP is the fear of my having the cert with no experience will hurt my chances even more. I feel like going for the MCSA will lead me in a completely different direction.

Does anyone have some suggestions? Should I continue with the CCNP? MCSA? Bachelors? Something else?

Comments

• Options
    koz24koz24 Member Posts: 766 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Don't bother with MCSA or VCP if you want to be a Network Engineer. Some guy on this forum landed a Jr Network Admin position with no experience and no certs, so the jobs are out there, albeit hard to find.

Another option instead of CCNP is to go broad in CCNA and get some valuable certs like Collaboration and Security.
  • Options