Options

What should I do to prepare myself?

audioaudio Member Posts: 28 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I am 32 years old and recently started my IT degree. My goal upon completion of this degree is to become a C#/.NET developer but my main issue right now is wondering what I should do between now and the 4 years until I get my degree.

Should I get some low level certs and take an entry level support type job? I feel like having some experience in the tech world will help me out when applying for a developer job however I'm not sure that low level support would be taken too seriously. I know I'll have to take a pretty decent pay cut but I feel like the long term outlook will offset the short term pay cut. I'm in a spot now where the pay cut won't really hurt me too much either.

Right now I'm a machinist so I do absolutely zero with IT at work however that doesn't mean I am inexperienced with IT outside of work.

Thank you for your time

Comments

• Options
    jesusrilesjesusriles Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hello,

In my opinion it would be great to start in any type of job related to Information Technology. IT support is a good job for starting, you learn a lot, trust me. And some jobs I saw recently (related to programming, networks, security, etc.) ask for experience in "IT support". Why? Because people who used to work in a support position should know how to analyze problems and find solutions.

Greetings!
  • Options
    NVLadyNVLady Member Posts: 51 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I agree. Support is a great way to start. I work for a state agency and we have had multiple people given opportunties to be programmers just based on the work they did in support. Good luck.
  • Options
    torquxtorqux Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Definitely tech support as there is no way to start directly with a good/really technical job
  • Options
    bgold87bgold87 Member Posts: 112
    Do you know CNC G-code?
  • Options
    bgold87 wrote: »
    Do you know CNC G-code?