Options

My chances of landing a decent Job in San Francisco

windsor888windsor888 Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi there guys, Im migrating to San Francisco from the Philippines this April. I want to know my chances of landing a decent job. I have 5 years experience in as small company as IT support basically doing everything that concerns computers. My last job is Application Administrator for 2 years in a tech company building servers, monitoring, pc support etc.. I handled cisco switches and Linux servers. I currently hold MCSA Server 2012, and CCNA and in the process of getting CCNP Routing and Switching. I want to be a Network Engineer but as ive read its hard to land this job. Im targetting at least 60,000 USD yearly for me to at least support myself . I don't think I can survive on minimum wage. I want to know if it's achievable thanks.

Comments

• Options
    PolynomialPolynomial Member Posts: 365
    You're not going to be able to survive on 60k in San Francisco.
  • Options
    RedRangerRedRanger Member Posts: 18 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Many good paying IT jobs in San Francisco also require US citizenship. Considering you said you're Filipino those jobs would not be available to you. You should try landing a job before going to SF. Also as the other guy said you won't be able to survive on $60k a year in SF or the surrounding area. From what I understand, from relatives who actually live in California you should be making a minimum of $75k+ for a single person to live in San Francisco proper and surrounding suburbs.
  • Options
    windsor888windsor888 Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Im an immigrant, are there any good paying jobs available or they do require US Citizenship. I dont have to live in San Francisco, Maybe in the neighboring cities where its not that expensive. I want to have an idea on what jobs and salary I can get with my credentials. Im still trying to decide on where to look for a job My options are near San Francisco CA or in Cerritos CA. Thanks!