Stay or Bail

InetmanInetman Registered Users Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
I work as a senior network engineer for a business unit within a global company (a name we all would recognize).

Last year rumors indicated the company was hiring IT staff in a foreign country to save money. Recent LinkedIn searches (i.e. google search "country name" "company name" site:linkedin.com/in OR site:linkedin.com/pub) show a very large number of IT people working for the company in the foreign country in question.

Late last year the company indicated intent to layoff staff and in the last few weeks nearly everyone I work with at corporate IT has left the company for other opportunities. Additionally, a CCIE "network manager" with over 10 years with the company emailed my boss inquiring about opportunities within the business unit I work in.

My workload is completely full with new projects. With over 10 years experience I certainly feel like I could compete with most other people in my industry, but not on a per-pay basis with people overseas. I work mostly on network security items (Checkpoint, Cisco ASA, F5, cloud networks, etc) that are in remote locations.

My resume is mostly up to date and I have other job leads. Question is would you stay or bail?

Thank you for your feedback!

Comments

• Kinet1cKinet1c Member Posts: 604 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I'd definitely interview elsewhere and see what sort of work is available in your area.
    2018 Goals - Learn all the Hashicorp products

Luck is what happens when preparation meets opportunity
  • AwesomeGarrettAwesomeGarrett Member Posts: 257
    Polish the resume and you'll be surprised what you get offered.
  • CleverclogsCleverclogs Member Posts: 95 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I'd say get your CV updated and then quietly see what's out there.
  • Danielh22185Danielh22185 Member Posts: 1,195 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I'd defiantly be looking / interviewing elsewhere.
    Currently Studying: IE Stuff...kinda...for now...