Unsure of career path

srjsrj Member Posts: 58 ■■■□□□□□□□
I am having difficulty with deciding where to go from my current position. I am currently a System Administrator, but have been taking on more Information Security tasks. I'm being asked to come up with what I want to do in 3-5 years and it has me stumped. I think I could be happy in a number of positions.

Current position:
- Handle maintenance tasks/patching on Windows, Linux, and Mac systems
- Use Python, Powershell, Bash, and PowerCLI to automate repetitive tasks. Most scripts/utilities are modestly sized (100-300 lines of code). I do understand OOO and do use classes when it makes sense, and don't typically write anything longer than 20-30 lines of bash without creating functions. Use Git to version control scripts.
- Have done some investigation of use of Ansible and Salt. I've setup basic roles that were parameterized so they can be used for various use cases. I'm no expert here yet, but I'd like to expand my knowledge and deploy a config management tool.
- Assist team members in completing security reviews and remediating security vulnerabilities. This includes creating data flow diagrams, some threat modeling, etc.
- Currently expanding my knowledge of web applications to be able to perform internal pen tests.

Weaknesses:
- I don't get much if any exposure to networking. I can troubleshoot basic issues from a client, but I do not configure routers, switches, firewalls, or load balancers.
- I don't get the opportunity to work on large application deployments and maintenance. Most of the maintenance revolves around security changes.

What I Enjoy:
- Writing scripts and tools to automate things
- Learning about new technologies and implementing them
- Mostly anything related to security

Potential Career Moves: