Options

CCNP ROUTE lab - ISRv1 vs ISRv2

OctalDumpOctalDump Member Posts: 1,722
So, I am currently studying for the CCNP. I have a couple of sims, but I am also building up a small lab with hardware.

I have a 2851 already and also an 1841 on the way, along with two 3560s. The recommendation is to have 4 routers. The ISRv1 are cheap enough to do this, but if the ISRv2 - eg 1941 - has some huge advantage, I might get one (or two if the deal is spectacular).

The materials I am reading reference ISRv2 equipment, but say that ios 15 is the actual requirement. Which makes me think some suitably upgraded 1800s or 2800s might be good enough.

In the medium term (next 3 years), the only other CCNP level I might do is CCNP Security or CCDP, if that makes a difference.

Is there anyone doing (or completed) the current 300-101 ROUTE (or the 300-135 TSHOOT) who has a good idea of whether the ISRv2s are worth it?
2017 Goals - Something Cisco, Something Linux, Agile PM

Comments

• Options
    d4nz1gd4nz1g Member Posts: 464
    I would go for the ISR G1 gear, since its way cheaper than the newer ones.

The routing protocol syntax and the concepts are the same (except for EIGRP, I believe) and you should be able to do the same on both gear.

If you really want the feel of IOS15 without buying new gear, use GNS3 (the 7200 router supports IOS 15) or maybe CSR1000v (IOS XE).
  • Options
    theodoxatheodoxa Member Posts: 1,340 ■■■■□□□□□□
    At the CCNA and CCNP level, an ISRv1 (1800, 2800, 3800) is fine. Plus, you don't have to worry about Universal images and License Packs.
    R&S: CCENT CCNA CCNP CCIE [ ]
    Security: CCNA [ ]
    Virtualization: VCA-DCV [ ]
  • Options
    PristonPriston Member Posts: 999 ■■■■□□□□□□
    If your using the ciscopress/netacad lab manuals. G1 ISRs should be fine. Even if you run into a lab that won't take all the commands, the lab manual has the show command output so you'll still know what's going on in the lab.