Guidance towards profession

Barett1065Barett1065 Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone,
New to this site. I have been looking around online about getting into the IT field, I have always been into computers and learning how they work. Unfortunately I did not have the money to pay for school when I graduated high school so I enlisted into the military and got out last year. I received my honorable discharge and all the benefits that come with it. I am out of the military now and have a family, I decided to go to devry and study on their cyberssecurity program. Only thing now is if I don't know if I made a mistake enrolling into devry because of all the negative comments I have seen regarding Devry, I have also seen that it's hard for someone to get a cyberssecurity job with no experience. My questions are was a it a mistake enrolling into devry for a profession in IT? Should I take a different program at devry like programming? And then get certificates on security? Is there anything I can do now to speed up my learning on the IT field? I have a family and I am working at a job I see no future in and want to be something in life. My work ethic is good and I learn things quick. What should I do?

Comments

• bpennbpenn Member Posts: 499
    I think an important question is how long have you been enrolled at Devry? If you have invested significant time there already I would finish. My father-in-law had a mediocre experience with Devry but it hasnt really stopped him from getting a job.

Also, you say you left the military? Are you looking to work DoD contracts or civil service? Because I can tell you that the degree, for the most part, is simply a checkbox around here. The government loves hiring people with degrees so definitely finish that.