Options

GSNA Re-certification Attempt

bryguybryguy Member Posts: 190
Well- nearly 4 years have transpired since fist passing the GSNA. As most of you know, who currently hold SANS certifications, SANS offers a few different paths for re-certification. In the past, your only option was to re-take the exam; now SANS now offers a "Continuing Education" option similar to ISC2 or CompTIA. While the cost of maintaining your certification is the same regardless if you re-certify by taking the exam, or if you log your continuing education credits, traditionally, I normally choose the continuing education option whenever possible (better risk/reward ratio). Because i work in the auditing field, however, I decided to take the exam.

The first thing I noticed was the cost. When I initially purchased the self-study material and exam attempt, the combined cost was over $4000. With the recertification option, I essentially received the same study material as I did the first time around, including books, certification attempt, tools, 2 practice tests, and downloadable mp3s for a little over $400.

The second difference, was the number of questions had been reduced from 150 for the initial attempt to 115 for the recertification attempt. As near as I can tell, they consolidated the information that was in the "Network Auditing Essentials" book, and redistributed the content in the remaining book. In doing so, they reduced the number of books from 6 to 5. In retrospect, this made the exam a little more tolerable, however it reduces the amount of time you have to take the exam from 4 hours to 3 hours.