Got job as System Administrator

jebrown21jebrown21 Member Posts: 20 ■□□□□□□□□□
So I just signed the offer letter for the position of System administrator. Before this, the company has never had a formal IT person and previously contracted work out for anything that couldn't be resolved themself. The company has about 120 employees.

I recently got my CCNA and am about to graduate WGU in the next month or two. I have about 2 years of experience working in the IT department of a clothing distribution center. I worked on anything from workstations to printers, sometimes on windows server to add users, reset passwords.

I was up against 2 other people and didn't think I was fully qualified for the position but I must have made a good impression during the interview.

This companies expectations are as follows:
  • Support networks and servers
  • Install and integrate new server hardware and applications
  • Keep eye out for updates
  • Ensure network connectivity
  • Monitor network performance
  • Set up user accounts, permissions and passwords
  • Resolve problems reported by end users
  • Define network policies and procedures

A lot of this I will be learning on the job. I have a home lab at home (3 routers, 3 switches, and a windows 2012 server) where I plan to lab up their setup to see how it is configured in my off-time.

I am looking for advice from those in similar roles. Any and all advice I would appreciate greatly. I would like to hit the ground running with this position.

Comments

• scaredoftestsscaredoftests Mod Posts: 2,780 Mod
    There will be some 'unknowns' that you can't practice for. Just study their network, take screenshots and ask alot of questions. Too bad you can't ask the outsourced networking service for info (see if they left on bad terms..and also check if they left something 'nasty').
    Never let your fear decide your fate....
  • Russ5813Russ5813 Member Posts: 123 ■■■□□□□□□□