Options

WGU C170 Database Applications

moe12moe12 Member Posts: 65 ■■□□□□□□□□
I am currently taking C170 Database Applications and the material is very dry. It uses uCertify as the main source of information.
Has anyone taken this class and found material outside of WGU which helped? The class mentors do not really seem interesting in helping understand the material, they just want to answer quick questions.

Comments

• Options
    bpennbpenn Member Posts: 499
    I passed this class a few months ago. Here is a write-up I shared at the time:

So, I completed C170 (Databases) a couple of weeks ago. Here is my review:

I have ZERO background in SQL (or programming, for that matter) so I knew this class would challenge me. There is an objective and performance assessment - the performance assessment requiring you to take unnormalized data, convert it to 1st, 2nd, and 3rd normal form and then create tables with that data. It took me 2 weeks to complete the project (I spent around 25-30 hours on it) and I hated it. You may grasp the material better than I did but I just cannot stand SQL. The objective assessment relies HEAVILY on the UCertify material. I suggest reading each chapter and going through some of the flash cards. ENSURE you are familiar with database normalization and entity relationships. I suggest taking the preassessment a few times to gauge your knowledge and begin working on the project before you take the objective assessment as it will really help you remember correct syntax.

Also, search for MySQL syntax on Google and REALLY try to practice and memorize some of the syntax as it will help significantly on the exam!