Options

What would you guys do? Labor Board

pixa241pixa241 Member Posts: 207
So according to our state labor board if you are a technical employee, you are supposed to get paid overtime and paid for being on call if you do not manage anybody. Our company has us as exempt so we do not get that and we do not manage anybody. We constantly work 60+ hours a week and is starting to get tiring. Other than "look for another job" what would you guys do? I like where I work, but all these extra hours can get tiresome. I am a network admin at my company, but all our admins here are jack of all trades since we are in healthcare. Thanks.
WGU Complete: September 2014

Comments

• Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Unless you have the stomach for a law suit "look for another job" is probably your only choice.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    rsuttonrsutton Member Posts: 1,029 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Doesn't that law only apply to non-exempt employees? Unless you are saying you should be non-exempt - but that has different rules and usually depends on how other employees within your company are classified. Either way, I'd start by talking to your manager about your concerns. If you come prepared with some solutions you may be more likely to get a favorable response.
  • Options
    thomas_thomas_ Member Posts: 1,012 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Even if you were exempt, companies can still land in hot water if they work their employees over 40 hours and that pushes their pay below minimum wage based on the total number of hours they worked.
  • Options
    636-555-3226636-555-3226 Member Posts: 975 ■■■■■□□□□□