Options

Need to obtain my CASP this year, but have no experience

captaininsanoicaptaininsanoi Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am about to graduate with a degree in computer science and have secured a job. The only problem is that I need to get my CASP by October to work for them because its required by DOD. This is something that I just found out (6 months after I accepted the job). My course work pretty much was centered around discrete math, algorithms, database systems, and programming. I have little to no experience in security and I was just wondering what I should do to to prepare for it. Should I study and take network+ and security+ first, or should I just get a book and watch various videos about the CASP and try to take it? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Comments

• Options
    danny069danny069 Member Posts: 1,025 ■■■■□□□□□□
    The CASP is a pretty tough exam. That being said, you should study for the Security+ first because that will give you the basics, then after that, start preparing for the CASP.
    I am a Jack of all trades, Master of None
  • Options
    firemike314firemike314 Member Posts: 62 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Contractor work I take it? You should go for SEC+ like stated above then attack CASP. I think its the logical step. However; it might be time to grind! Get it!
  • Options
    OctalDumpOctalDump Member Posts: 1,722
    As a recently minted CASP, I'll give my tuppence: you need at least some networking and server OS knowledge, along with a smattering of business knowledge, IT governance, development and service lifecycle stuff and project management. This is far easier to get through work experience, since a lot you will 'just acquire' almost by osmosis.