Options

Service Desk Interview Prep Questions

tjb122982tjb122982 Member Posts: 255 ■■■□□□□□□□
I have a interview for a Service Desk Analyst I position at a state university on Wednesday afternoon and I have a few questions while I am getting ready for it. The position really seems like a straight up tier 1 help desk job where customer service skills are valued more over tech skills. At this point, I would say I am very strong in customer service but I am still pretty green in the tech side of things.

1. I was told that the dress is business casual. Which, I have always assumed that meant dress shoes, khakis, and a dress shirt tucked in. Would I be "too formal" or "not paying attention to instructions" if I wear a tie?

2. The position lists ITIL v3 foundation cert as a preferred qualification, which I do not have. Would it be a decent idea to bone up on the very basics before Wednesday?

3. I have a Masters degree and background in library science. What are some things I could say that would ease their minds that I am overqualified or I am only passing through IT? The reason that this might come up is that when I filled out the application, I selected both libraries and IT as interests and I listed both backgrounds on my application and resume.

4. On a related note, I am getting ready to build setup pFesnse system. I might have sometime tomorrow night to do that; this is the only time I have to work on it before the interview. Should I work on it to show that I really know what I am doing and possibly deflect some of the possible concerns that I am overqualified or should I just get ready for the questions they might throw at me via the customer service side of things.

Comments

• Options
    BerkshireHerdBerkshireHerd Member Posts: 185
    Your spot on for the dress, business means tie, business casual means basically what you stated.