Options

Jr. Linux Administrator Interview

$bvb379$bvb379 Member Posts: 155
Not even sure how I called for this but I got an interview this Friday. My Linux knowledge is the use of Ubuntu and CentOS on and off since August, that is it. It is mentioned in my cover-letter that I am new to IT and have very little Linux background so they knew that before calling me (assuming they read my cover letter).

Job Description
YOU SHOULD ALREADY HAVE A BASIC UNDERSTANDING OF THE FOLLOWING:

• Linux OS fundamentals
• Basic knowledge of how the Internet works, including DNS & Email at the server level
• Highly-focused attention to detail
• Strong interpersonal skills and the ability to communicate effectively over phone and email
• Experience with computer hardware
• Ability to work flexible shifts
• Comfort in working with adult-oriented websites

YOU WILL BE TAUGHT TO DO THE FOLLOWING SO WELL YOU COULD DO IT IN YOUR SLEEP:

• Provide best-in-class customer support in response to our customer's requests and work orders.
• Fully manage the installation, configuration and troubleshooting of all aspects of Linux servers
• Install and configure web servers using Apache and MySQL as well as other types of web server software
• Install and configure customer scripts and programs
• Troubleshoot and resolve server system, hardware and Linux software problems.
• Maintain 100% customer satisfaction through all available means.

Any advice is welcome.

Comments

• Options
    mgmguy1mgmguy1 Member Posts: 485 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Good luck, Let us know how it turns out.
    "A lot of fellows nowadays have a B.A., M.D., or Ph.D. Unfortunately, they don't have a J.O.B."

Fats Domino
  • Options
    lsud00dlsud00d Member Posts: 1,571
    How good are you with the command line? Being a linux sys admin means using the shell, not the GUI.