Passed GCIA

monkykapmonkykap Member Posts: 24 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi Everyone,

Been combing through this forum every since I decided to take a SANS course. I am new to the profession so I wasn't sure if i should take GSEC because I was so new to IT, but after much deliberation, I finally settled on GCIA because i wanted to learn more about networking (I considered GWAPT but it wasn't rated as highly as this course and I have good introductory knowledge for web technology and vulnerabilities already). My background is on the application side from school, but I really wanted understand the network protocols deeper; and this course gives you great sampling of RFC for the most important protocols (mind you, it will by no means make you an expert; but you will definitely be very proficient). Anyway really thankful to this forum for helping me decide to pursue GCIA; I really enjoyed the course and learned A LOT. While not as sexy as Red Team stuff, I came away with a deep appreciation for the challenge to detect signs of an intrusion. I'm actually leaning towards more Blue Team stuff as a career path now just because of how interesting this course was and at the end of the day our goal as Security Professionals is to prevent and detect security incidents and it's more for me (that being said i still want to learn the Red team stuff haha).

So as far as the test goes for future test takers: here are stats/advice (Please note: everyone learns better using different methods and this is just a reference of what worked for me)