Options

Which training should i go "database" for PLEASE HELP

SlickFlickSlickFlick Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey everyone, I'm debating between 2 certificate programs and i was hoping for your input for which one will be a better option. Now beside the cost, im basically wanting to know which one is more reputable in the work envirnment and hve a higher level of training.
Keep in mind that im totally new to IT and database field and would like to get an entry level database administrator job.

1/ database administrator certificate from bellevue college (in class) http://www.bellevuecollege.edu/ce/category/database-administrator/
2/ database management certificate from uw continuing educarion (online) https://www.pce.uw.edu/certificates/database-management
Thank you everyone

Comments

• Options
    cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    I am still unclear if you have and undergrad or other studies. I can't speak to the quality of the programs, but I will say that as a hiring manager I would not care where your certificate is from. I would put more weight on your expertise and general understanding of whatever technologies we use.
  • Options
    Thank your for your input, i really appreciate it.
    Let me clear a little bit of the ambiguity.
    I'm 31 years old, and i have been a blue collar for the last 4 years since i came to the United States. Currently working as a truck driver. I've always had a passion for technology and i always wanted to pursue a career in the tech industry.
    My goal is to get my foot in the door, i want to to pursue a career in the tech industry and specifically as a database administrator and eventually work up the ladder.
    So the better question will be: what will help me land my first job as a database administrator?
    go for 1 year certification like the one i mentioned above? study for Oracle/Microsoft certification? see if there is a 12 week immersive database bootcamps like the one for web developers?