Options

Why is it so hard to get a job?

pearljampearljam Member Posts: 134
Why is it so hard to get a job? I have a college degree, am studying for certifications. I get phone interviews with companies and they tell me a couple days later that I didn't get it. I live in Seattle obviously a huge tech market. I don't know if it's my approach or if they are simply just choosing other candidates, but in my opinion it shouldn't be so hard to get a job? Can anyone offer some advice?

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    scaredoftestsscaredoftests Mod Posts: 2,780 Mod
    How do you do on the phone interviews? Do you ask questions to the interviewer? Do you have experience?
    Never let your fear decide your fate....
  • Options
    I have six months experience. I'll ask questions that pertain to the job such as maybe more detail of what I'll be doing or the benefits that go along with the position.
  • Options
    thomas_thomas_ Member Posts: 1,012 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I've always heard hou shouldn't talk about benefits until they offer you the job.
  • Options
    markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
    What type of job experience do you have? I'd try to get some volunteer experience if possible. That with a degree will help a lot especially once you get a cert too.
  • Options
    Call center experience. Where should I look to volunteer? There is a homeless shelter where I could go and teach math, grammar, and computer skills? But that doesn't really get me experience.
  • Options
    markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I mean volunteer for IT experience. Try something like protonic.com or volunteer at a church and see if they need help. Anything you can put on your resume helps a lot.
  • Options
    danny069danny069 Member Posts: 1,025 ■■■■□□□□□□