help desk to network support

monorionmonorion Member Posts: 90 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello All,

So I have been doing helpdesk/desktop support for about 3 years now with a couple different companies, The current one I am at is a pretty good salary around 60k. Anyway I am looking to move out of helpdesk for a position like network support, Jr network admin, etc. I want to start working on network infrastructure. I am still working on certifications (mainly CCNA) and I am passively looking on job boards just to see what's out there and what employers are looking for.

My Main question is should i expect a pay cut when doing this transition? If that's the case I am okay with it, I just want to see if anyone has ever gone through this transition and what their experience was like.

Thank you All!

Comments

• NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Would really depend on the area you live, the business sector of your next company, your current networking experience and the exact type of work of your next position you get. If I had to guess and entry level NOC position is closer to 50K but there is a lot of determining factors on which that could increase or decrease.
  • monorionmonorion Member Posts: 90 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Thank you NetworkNewb, you list some very good points, I don't really have any networking experience other then self study and labs, which is why i want' to jump ship so I think i should be looking at the experience I will be getting versus the pay.
  • indigomx9indigomx9 Member Posts: 32 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I'm in New York City, and it used to be where everyone had a role: the Help desk Team, Audio/Projector/Video Conferencing Team, Desktop Team, Cabling/Phone VOIP/Network Team, and Server Team. Nowadays a lot of company's have migrated to a "jack-of-all-trades" On-Site support and do everything.