IT training, school, career impact and thoughts

ck86ck86 Member Posts: 62 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey guys,

I've been back and forth a bit lately choosing my education path.

Briefly summary of me: 30 year old Army vet, some college, no certs, self-taught IT. I did a few years as a jr sysadmin, moved onto consulting where I was the primary admin for about 10 medical/legal clients. Handled everything in the small business realm, servers, backups, network, etc. Moved onto where I am now as an IT manager/technical lead for an MSP overseeing the helpdesk, projects, 30+ clients, managing/maintaining current tech and introducing better solutions.

Through the last year I've tried to juggle full-time classes at a local college and it's been pretty hit or miss. I've struggled staying on top of very mundane classes on top of everything else. My dream is to get a CS degree, but I'm starting to wonder if it would actually mean anything for my career at this point and if I'm just wasting time and burning myself out. I also am expected to get a Microsoft server cert here in the coming months for work.

What do you guys think? Is not having a degree going to hold me back? Would I be better off pursuing an in-depth certification like CRISC and strengthening my technical skills? I feel most of the things I'm learning in school are outdated and irrelevant in the real world. I don't do well with busy work and my stress levels skyrocket when I have work and school deadlines over my head.

Appreciate any feedback from the industry vets and things you've observed in yours/others careers.

Thanks,

Comments

• Nightflier101BLNightflier101BL Member Posts: 134 ■■■□□□□□□□