Options

Seeking Internship Advice

JonmonjoviJonmonjovi Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey there TE,

I may very well be one of the biggest lurkers on this forum, but I have come here tonight humbly seeking advice and expertise. I started my journey at WGU last year and this forum has been a major resource throughout my degree. I am now on the final stretch of my degree plan as I just have a couple more classes left, and I have already started my technical writing/capstone project.

I currently work in healthcare, and have been there for several years. So, going back to WGU for a technical degree was a personal decision and I knew that I would be faced with a career transition in my late twenties. I have thoroughly enjoyed my experience so far, I have learned so very much and I'm very eager to apply all of this knowledge to the field. So of course I have been actively been applying to internships over the past few months, to no avail.

Recently however I received some feedback for the first time. First was for an interesting opportunity for a government internship (4 months), which I believe would give me a chance to obtain a secret security clearance. I say this because the job description says that it requires it, but I have yet to inquire about it, so I cant say definitively. But it is definitely one of the selling points for me, as I will be graduating WGU with a BSIT-Sec and I have found myself to mostly be interested in network security thus far.