Options

MCSA or keep going to MCSE??

daviddwsdaviddws Member Posts: 303 ■■■□□□□□□□
Only a few days ago, I was prepared to go all the way to an MCSE (2012R2 Server), but then I started thinking about why and this is how I feel at this point in my career.

1) Is it required for the current job? Currently I only need the MCSA. No one is asking me to get the MCSE.

2) Will training be provided? I'm currently studying MCSA on my own. This requires training videos, books, test exams .. ect ect. From what I have read on this forum most people have said the MCSE is very involved, and I don't feel like taking this on by myself. If the job doesn't provide the training, why bother?

3) It expires. I know this is always in contention on this site, but if there is no 1 and 2 above, then I will be getting a cert that will expire in 3 years. Not sure the point of that.

So in conclusion, are there reasons why I should bother with this certification and is there really a demand for it? The booster pack makes it tempting, but I have my doubts. I've been in IT for more than 10 years, and I don't feel like jumping for the sake of jumping.

For those that have obtained the cert, have you seen a great return on that investment for your time? I'm thinking probably not, but I look forward to some replies.

thanks,
David

Comments

• Options
    OctalDumpOctalDump Member Posts: 1,722
    Looking at the certs you do have, it would at least mark out an area of 'expertise'. This might not be that relevant for you given your Masters' and also your experience. I think if you were thinking of moving, it would be worthwhile - probably more to expand the range of opportunities than to necessarily increase your salary (given the two Masters' degrees and the experience). The expiration isn't a huge deal, it's just a one exam to recertify, by which time there will be 2016, so you'd need updating anyway.