Options

Need some advice on my resume

jahazieljahaziel Member Posts: 175 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey guys,I'm about to start looking for jobs most likely and would like the communities help to find out if there's room for improvement. I'm still thinking about how to word everything from my current job but i'll keep going at it.Thanks ahead of time.

Added updated resume 4/3 at 9:44 EST

Comments

• Options
    cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    A resume needs to be perfect. Period. Right now I would pass on this resume based on the following:

- Too much fluff. This should not be a 3 page resume
    - You claim to be a Senior System Engineer. I do not see this. I'm not saying you have/don't have the experience, just that you did not communicate it well enough. Writing down "Raised Forest and Domain functional level..." screams amateur to me. Same with "Upgrade Quickbooks to latest version."
    - As a hiring manager I like to see tangible, measurable stuff instead of simple tasks. Example: "Implemented X new process resulting in XYZ savings in man hours..."
    - Wrong capitalization: Vcenter, snmp, nat, Labtech (you later on capitalize it properly), Hyper V, ghost.

So overall the main fault is the lack of attention to detail. It reads like you sat down and dumped everything you do on a page without any culling or optimization process. Finally, don't forget to tailor each resume to the specific job posting you are applying for.
  • Options
    Awesome advice. Honestly, you're right. I did **** everything and didn't think much about it. I'll review this and post an updated resume. I'm just feeling low right now at my current job.
  • Options
    636-555-3226636-555-3226 Member Posts: 975 ■■■■■□□□□□