Options

What kind of job I should try to target and what salary can I expect with CCNA Sec +

lukingluking Banned Posts: 46 ■■□□□□□□□□
I have been working in IT for over 15 years (Networking, troubleshooting, software testing, helpdesk) and touch basic security stuff everyday but not the hardcore security functions. I have CCNA in R+S and Security apart from Sec+. I was hoping to go for CISSP before starting a job search in pure InfoSec field but it looks like a mission impossible to clear cissp due to my limited exposure to Security concepts.
If I were to start looking for a position in Info-Security, what kind of position you recommend me to start looking at? And any idea what salary range can be expected in Chicago or Toronto?

Comments

• Options
    Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Network security? Firewalls and such maybe. As for the CISSP, with 15 years of experience have you really looked at the 8 domains to see if you have 4 years covering at least 2 of them since you have the Sec+ already? You might surprise yourself.
  • Options
    Danielm7 wrote: »
    Network security? Firewalls and such maybe. As for the CISSP, with 15 years of experience have you really looked at the 8 domains to see if you have 4 years covering at least 2 of them since you have the Sec+ already? You might surprise yourself.
    Danielm7 - Thanks for replying. Yes I do feel that I "may" be able to convince them that I have more than 4 years of experience but in the end the final answer is up to them.
    I have my heart in tacking CISSP exam, its contents and questions tickle me (LOL). I would live to go full steam ahead for it but the uncertainty about getting full CISSP designation is a becoming a big stumbling block
  • Options
    MrAgentMrAgent Member Posts: 1,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Why not just look at indeed.com for those certifications in the locations you are looking at, and then see what the comparative salaries are on glassdoor.com ?