Options

Age 50 retiring as Military Pilot, TS/SCI - NEWBIE to Computer Securiy

billDFWbillDFW Member Posts: 45 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello Folks

I will be retiring in four years (year 2020) from the military, as an Aircraft Pilot, at the rank of Lt. Col. I have a BA degree and some graduate credits towards an MBA (not finished). I also speak fluent Spanish. I will have an active/current Top Secret/SCI security clearance when I retire. While I will have my pension, I want to pursue new challenges, and have always had a computer geek lurking inside me.

I live in Dallas, TX.

Questions/Comments:

1. I do not wish to seek a flying job in retirement. The wife wants dad home (for the most part), especially in light of the always-gone military life. Flying job=gone. I indeed may buy a Cessna and fly on the weekends, with my kids. When I retire in 4, kids will be 11 and 13 (early adolescents) and in the "Dad needs to be around" phase.

2. In my "next chapter" (what comes next, when I retire) research, it is plainly obvious that computer security indeed is and will be the hot career field. Additional research has caused me to conclude that arguably the best entry-level certificates are Security A+ and Network A+, which I plan to get. Comments/critique wanted. School, provider, for the Security A+ ? Any one in particular look better on the resume ?

3. What are some things I can do, between now, and year 2020, so that when I walk out the door of the military, I am employable ? Please note that due to various ethics rules, etc, I cannot work at a second job or in a paid position outside of the military, obviously until I retire.

4. What would a (some call it a high-school diploma of security) Security A+ guy earn, annually, at an entry level job ?

5. What networking, etc can I do ? Join the local ISSA Chapter ?

6. (Possibly silly question) do any entry-level work from home jobs exist in this field ?

Advice, comments, etc are appreciated.

Thank you

Comments

• Options