Options

What are your thoughts on "hireability", if you will?

John.John. Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello guys, this is my first post here. Whoo! Ha...

Anyways, I'm a 0651-Cyber Network Operator in the US Marine Corps, and I'm not planning on reenlisting. What I don't know much about is how marketable I really am to the private IT sector, and what I should do to improve my weak areas.

Currently, I have 2 years left on my enlistment. As of right now I have CompTia's A+ and Sec+ under my belt, but I haven't really had much time for anything else. I'm actually on a 6 month deployment in the Pacific right now, creating and managing networks and server/storage systems supporting multi-national training operations for my battalion. My duties include designing the network/IP scheme for my battalion and how to connect to the Marine Corps tactical WAN, I manage on/off setting up satellite transmission equipment (VSAT/Linkway Modem) we use in the field, the physical creation of our LAN, programming our Cisco switches and routers, Virtualization of server's through ESXI, Server 2008r2/Server2012r2, STIG'ing server/workstation OS's to DISA standards, Creating our Active Directory Domain and securing it through GPO's and other tools, Monitoring network status using SolarWinds, small-ish scale SAN storage with Netapp equipment (though I have knowledge of NFS storage systems and how to create them as well-we don't use them for the Marines), very basic SQL operations (like deploying a SQL server so that an application can function with it, I'm not well versed with SQL queries, although I am learning on my own), workstation help desk functions as well as using RDP to remotely assist with client troubleshooting problems, as well as using Remedy to submit trouble tickets. I build new VM's and domains, and program semi-complex networking solutions on the equipment for every operation we have completed, and in the last 12 months we completed over 18 training operations.