Options

Is this program top-heavy with programming classes?

PragmaticZealotPragmaticZealot Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi, I'm currently studying Information Technology at a local state university. I looked at the degree requirements checklist and I showed it to a friend who graduated from Penn State's IST program. He told me he was required to take only 1 c++ course his entire time at penn state. However, my school (kutztown) requires 2 c++ programming classes as well as 2 classes in software engineering and a web programming course. Is it normal for an IT program to require this much coding? I am attaching the degree requirements sheet (1st page is just gen ed, 2nd page lists the required major courses). Or is this particular program top heavy with programming classes?

http://app.kutztown.edu/checksheets/checksheet.aspx?checksheet=ULASCSCIT-2162

Comments

• Options
    TechGuru80TechGuru80 Member Posts: 1,539 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Sounds like it's more geared towards the development side of IT.
  • Options
    TomkoTechTomkoTech Member Posts: 438
    IT Programs vary. And they are completely different degrees. Yours is a BS "Computer Science" degree with an emphasis in Information Technology.

Penn state appears to offer a BA Information Systems degree and 4 different BS flavors. So his probably doesn't align with yours.

When I went to Cleveland State they had two different options. One was a business degree, the other a BS. The BS was heavy into programming where as the business degree only had 2 programming courses.
  • Options
    beadsbeads Member Posts: 1,531 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Once upon a time CS degrees uniformly required at least a minor if not a full degree in mathematics. The math portion was there to teach developers deep level logic and problem solving. Today your lucky to require much more than college algebra.