Options

Master's Advice

DarkmanX-DarkmanX- Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello all,

New to the forums but check this site out very often for valuable information. I was hoping some of you could provide me with some advice on choosing a Masters program in Cybersecurity. First off, I am finishing up my Bachelor's in IT with a concentration in cybersecurity from Excelsior College. I am currently a secondary math teacher so I am looking to switch careers along with attending graduate school online. I have some IT experience and have obtained Security+ and taking the SSCP exam to be an associate of ISC2.

I am currently enrolled in the dual program for Masters in cybersecurity at Excelsior but want to pursue a graduate program elsewhere. I have some programming knowledge (C, Java, Python) and networking experience/knowledge.

Here is where I have applied and what programs (All NSA/DOD certified);

Iowa State - MS Information Assurance dual with MS Comp Eng
Maryland at College Park - MsEng Cybersecurity (accepted already)
Univ of Rhode Island - PSM Cybersecurity (accepted already)
Penn State - MS in info sciences - info assurance and cybersecurity
Utica College - MS Cybersecurity
Regis University - MS Info Assurance
Univ South Florida - MS Cybersecurity
Johns Hopkins - MS Cybersecurity
Boston Univ - MSCIS - Security

Any advise would be gladly appreciated!

Comments

• Options
    dmoore44dmoore44 Member Posts: 646
    Any specific sort of advice you're looking for?

Those are all really good programs; I've always liked the UMCP, Utica, and Hopkins programs - I heavily considered them when I was searching around. Between those 3, I really don't think you could go wrong - you'll receive a quality education from any of them.
    Graduated Carnegie Mellon University MSIT: Information Security & Assurance Currently Reading Books on TensorFlow
  • Options