CISSP Reputation

g33k3rg33k3r Member Posts: 249 ■■□□□□□□□□
I just had a conversation with a friend who made a comment that people should not get their CISSP. He actually passed the exam a while ago but didn't have the years of experience quit yet so he is an associate. I didn't go into detail as to why, other than I told him that it has opened some doors for me and that I feel more well rounded as a security professional from what I learned in my studies. He is a VERY smart guy with an excellent understanding in the more technical areas such as penetration testing and forensics. Among many other certifications, he just got his OSCP and is working on his OSCE.

My questions is, what are other hearing about the value and reputation of the CISSP? I know that Dave Kennedy is now on the board which I believe is a good sign. I studied extremely hard for the CISSP and it was very difficult so I guess I am just hoping the hard work wasn't wasted. I know it has helped me get my new job and is assisting me down the road of building a new security program, bringing my organization into compliance, and completing risk assessments. When I first started down the road of security I never knew the importance of GRC. I was alway tantalized by the sexy world of penetration testing.

Thoughts??

Comments

• gespensterngespenstern Member Posts: 1,243 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Well, CISSP reputation is certainly better than of some other certs not to be named... They do a good job producing high quality questions, battle brain **** and manage to cover "all security" which is a pretty hard thing to do.

BTW I voted for Kennedy, Wim Remes and a japanese granddaddy last year. Was very glad to see them all winning.

For me it didn't give much in terms of knowledge, most of new things I've learned while preparing were government things (TCSEC, Bell-LaPadula, etc) that I never or barely use in real life anyways. But for passing HR barriers this cert is second to none.