Options

Jobs in IT that are always busy

ProFamousProFamous Member Posts: 63 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello, I was just wondering, from your experience, what jobs in IT are always "busy". Right now I am a desktop tech (fixing computers, removing viruses, etc), and quite frankly there is a lot of downtime and the work is relatively repetitive. I like to stay busy and have new challenges, go to meetings, talk to people, have new projects, etc. I would imagine a lot of the manager level roles in IT are busy, but what about entry/mid level.

The reason I ask this is because I am really interested in networking/system administration and enjoy it quite a lot, but I don't want to just be sitting at a desk watching YouTube videos for hours a day. Something like a field tech comes to mind, traveling to different sites and such. Any other ideas? Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    si20si20 Member Posts: 543 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Honestly, I think IT Technician roles are the most "busy". Busy to me, means having a good amount of work to do without being overloaded. My first security analyst role was horrific because we were overloaded. We had 4 people doing the work of 10 people. More often than not, we had 2 people doing the work of 12 people, because 2 of the 4 were new to the team... Just be wary about getting into very busy roles because they quickly become as soul destroying as jobs with absolutely nothing to do. You want a nice balance.
  • Options
    markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Like the one guy on here that asked which jobs have the most downtime, the answer is "it depends". It's going to depend more on the environment than the actual role most likely. Any job where you're understaffed is going to be extremely busy. Find something that's on call as a sysadmin maybe?
  • Options
    rsuttonrsutton Member Posts: 1,029 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Find a mid-sized MSP and you will be busy.
  • Options
    jamesleecolemanjamesleecoleman Member Posts: 1,899 ■■■■■□□□□□