Options

Failed the CISSP twice - studying for the 3rd and final time - any good advice

zapkzapk Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have been pointed to this forum by a colleague who holds multiple certifications. I am an Information Assurance professional working in the Government Contracting industry where it is required to hold 8570 level 3 certifications. I have been doing this for 10 years now. I took a boot camp in July 2015, studied for 6 weeks before my first exam on October 19 2015 - got a 629 with lots of questions on CHAP, PCI-DSS, and Networking. Studied again for 8 weeks using the ISC2 official study guide and Shon Harris 5th edition and took exam on April 18 2016 - got a 669. For the 2nd exam I felt prepared and confident, had quickly gone through the exam and marked 27 questions to go back and review. I took 2 breaks at the 125 and 250 question mark. Then I made a major mistake and reviewed all my answers and made changes (breaking my cardinal rule). After 4 days of my pity party and I am more determined to be the subject matter expert with all things CISSP. Having been pointed to this forum is a good start. I see that I should go and get the Sybex 7th edition book and plan on reading cover to cover word for word.
I am not a good test taker. Knowing this I am also going to do a mind mapping exercises for the test taking and the 10 domains. My weak domains are NETWORKING, COMMUNICATIONS, & SECURITY MODELS. My strong subjects SECURITY ADMINISTRATION, LAW, PHYSICAL SECURITY.
I welcome any advice and a kick in the ass.

Comments

• Options
    Mike7Mike7 Member Posts: 1,107 ■■■■□□□□□□
  • Options
    havoc64havoc64 Member Posts: 213 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Good Morning Zapk