"To re-certify, or not to re-certify that is the question?"

cjthedj45cjthedj45 Member Posts: 331 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi Folks,

I wanted to get some opinions\advice here.

I have 9 Cisco certs in total CCNA, CCNA Security, CCNP Security and they will in expire in June 2016.

In my current role I work as a Security Analyst and don't have any exposure to Cisco technology that I manage.

Previously I worked as a network Engineer, but for the last 8 years I have been in security roles.

Going forward I'm planning to get my CISSP and continue to grow in the security field.

I have worked hard to get my Cisco Certs and feel reluctant to let them go, but not sure if there is any value in keeping them. The Cisco certs have certainly helped me to get in the position I'm in now. Also understanding networking is really important in security, but just not sure if taking the CCNP switch exam for example would be a good move. I don't need to logon to switches and setup vlans, VTP, STP etc. However I do have a say in the build standard of the switch and how to secure it.

Any thoughts

Comments

• AndersonSmithAndersonSmith Member Posts: 471 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I don't currently have any Cisco certs, but I'm proud of the certifications I've worked hard to get and would have a hard letting them expire even if they weren't necessarily helping me out in my current job. You never know when you might want/need to switch job roles and having the active certs would definitely be beneficial for that. If it is a matter of time and money then that's a whole different matter completely but if that's not an issue I'd try to keep them active.
    All the best,
    Anderson

"Everything that has a beginning has an end"
  • cjthedj45cjthedj45 Member Posts: 331 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Hi Anderson,