Options

Having Trouble Linking DNS Servers

cheebliecheeblie Member Posts: 288
I have an AD domain setup on my network. I am very new to this so please bear with me. If I use 192.168.1.2, my AD DNS server, as the DNS server that clients use, then I am not able to connect to the internet. In fact, I seem to have DNS errors when connecting to that server as well. If I manually put in the DNS servers of my ISP, I have no problem connecting to the internet. I am also able to connect to the server and view files from both workstations. Could someone please help me fix my network? It has to be something with DNS, but I can't find out what exactly is wrong.

Cheeblie

Comments

• Options
    RussSRussS Member Posts: 2,068 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Always a fun issue.

DNS is based on resource records that contain info on specific machines on a network. Your DNS server will have the info on your machines, but will not realistically be an authoritive DNS machine for the internet.

All ISPs have DNS servers and in most cases a client system is automatically configured to use them when connecting to the provider. Your system is connected to the ISP and has their DNS info. To share your connection with your network you must configure the client systems with the DNS server addresses manually or by using DHCP. Internet client systems use DNS to resolve the internet server names against IP addresses, but if you are running a Web or FTP server then you will need to configure your records with the applicable data.

When running your own fully qualified DNS server you will need a registered IP address so that it is visable on the internet. Therefore most admin on smaller networks just usually use the assigned DNS server addresses from your Internet Provider.
    www.supercross.com
    FIM website of the year 2007
  • Options
    Well, since Active Directory requires a domain DNS server, how should I go about getting this to work?

Cheeblie
  • Options
    grrrr - now I forget .... lol