Passed CISSP 1st Attempt May 02, 2016

mdhisapromdhisapro Member Posts: 27 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have been lurking TE.net for the past few weeks as I have been preparing to take my CISSP examination. I have been working in IT Security for 5 years, with a few years of Physical Security, and DR/BC work, and being a field engineer implementing access control hardware. Prior to preparing for the CISSP I got the ISC2 4th Edition Book, but I don't think I have read more then 30-40 pages of it. The material as presented there I found really hard to stay focused on. I did listen to the Shon Harris audio files, and found those quite a bit more enjoyable -- although now after sitting for the exam today, I am not sure how much they added for me personally. I also took a week long bootcamp from LearningTree prior to scheduling my exam, which was a good refresher, and I purchased the Sybex 7th Edition because I got a really good deal on the eBook version.

I did not use CCCure or even the Sybex tests, but I did use some practice exams from the bootcamp I took, and a lot of flashcards. Sitting for the exam today there was honestly a lot less memorization than I thought there would be. I feel like every question on there was pretty easy to determine the answer they were seeking, like everyone says just pay attention to the MOST, FIRST, verbiage on the questions, and keep a managerial perspective. I am glad this is behind me. I sat down for the exam and had to tell myself to slow down a few times. I wrote the #25 on my dry erase board 10 times, and every 25 questions crossed one out and make myself relax, so I wouldn't get in a habit of speeding through and reading questions wrong.