Which Certification?

LucmaneLucmane Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello Everyone,

I graduated last summer with a degree in Computer Network Security, been applying for entry-level/Junior IT jobs and working in retail at the same. I don't have much experience working in IT which I feel is a factor in getting that first IT job however I recently undertook work experience for two weeks working as an IT helpdesk assistant intern in hope of boosting my chances. I haven't been successful in finding a job yet, as such I am hoping to complete an IT certification, either the CCNA (covered quite a bit of Cisco material at uni) or MCSA cert, not sure which to choose from. Will this boost my chances of getting my first job in IT and is there any other certification that is more appropriate for me to pursue?

Appreciate any responses

Comments

• LexluetharLexluethar Member Posts: 516
    Those are both pretty large certifications to tackle considering you have no other certifications and little job experience.

I would suggest starting off with an A+ and/or Net+. From there decide if you enjoy networking (go with CCNA) or servers (go with MCSA). You can do both and plenty of people are experts in both areas but starting off with certifications is really easy to get overwhelmed. I would start off small and work your way up from there. Even once you land that first job keep plugging away. LOTS of people (i would say 80% of the people i've worked with or run into) become complacent once they land that first job and stop getting certifications. What there is a lot of opportunity costs out there with continuing your education. Also it will ensure you are on top of your game because there will always be someone waiting to take your spot.
  • OctalDumpOctalDump Member Posts: 1,722