Outside local address

Outside global address

Local address

Global address

Comments

• Options
    fearlessfreap24fearlessfreap24 Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
    these are from my notes:

NAT allows private users to access the internet by sharing one or more public IP address
    the most important types of address
    inside local: host on the inside network
    inside global: usually assigned by an IPS and allows the customer outside access
    outside global: host on the outside network
  • Options
    stunnedsoupstunnedsoup Member Posts: 120
    Took me a few minutes to find the Cisco Doc I studied...anyway here it is: what I did was know this document very well. I am very visual so I studied the illustrations. My advice - get a pencil and paper and draw it out until you get familiar with it. Then you get to a point where you can draw it in your head and will know where your Inside Local, Inside Global, etc. go.

Best wishes!
    Cisco: CCENT COLOR=#ff0000]✔[/COLOR CCNA COLOR=#ff0000]✔[/COLOR || MCSE: 70-410 COLOR=#ff0000]✔[/COLOR 70-411 [ ] 74-409 COLOR=#ff0000]✔[/COLOR 70-534 [ ] || VMWare: VCP [ ]
  • Options
    james43026james43026 Member Posts: 303 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Inside local = IP address of an inside node, before NAT translation, and is the IP address of the node as seen by devices inside your network.

Inside Global = IP address of an inside node, after NAT translation, and is the IP address of the node as seen by devices outside your network

Outside global = IP address of an outside node, before NAT translation, and is the IP address of the node as seen by devices outside your network, usually a public IP address

Outside Local = IP address of an outside node, after NAT translation, and is the IP address of the node as seen by devices inside your network
  • Options
    volfkhatvolfkhat Member Posts: 1,054 ■■■■■■■■□□
    For me,
    I had to throw out all the Insides & Outsides and Locals & Globals.

Instead,