Options

Switching career to information security

haribolharibol Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am currently a Sr IT program Manager in one of top Software company. I have approx. 21 years of working experience in product development and IT program management. I am trying to switch to information security field and started online Masters in Cybersecurity from UTICA college, which is expected to finish in late 2017. The Program is good but it can not be a substitute of real world experience. I tried few internal jobs within my organization but considering my current level in the organization, they require more experience in the security field. It is a chicken and egg situation. I am bit hesitant in trying security job in outside market because i will face a similar situation. Sametime joining lower position is not feasible due to personal constraints. Please share your experience if you had faced a similar situation. What other skills i should acquire in parallel to my degree.

Comments

• Options
    Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    This is a difficult situation because of how far you are in your management career and not wanting to take a lower position at the same time. Now, are you planning on the MS program to go to a management role in infosec, or planning on going straight technical? I went from a systems engineer to a security role, and even then I went in as an analyst and them moved up.

What makes you want to change to security after 21 years in management?
  • Options
    636-555-3226636-555-3226 Member Posts: 975 ■■■■■□□□□□
    What are your weaknesses? Most master's programs won't teach you the real-world skills like Nessus, Splunk, Snort, Metasploit, OWASP ZAP, etc.

What do you want to do? Are you looking to run a program or be in the trenches? Large companies have more segregation of duties, small- to mid- you'll be doing a mixture of both.
  • Options
    devilbonesdevilbones Member Posts: 318 ■■■■□□□□□□