Options

Almost completed with degree and know nothing

Ungadunga911Ungadunga911 Member Posts: 53 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello, i am a junior college level student and i am almost finished with my AAS degree in computer networking, i just wanted some input from anybody that is able to relate but i feel completely useless with everything that i have done in this degree. I know that i am not the only one cause i have spoken to many class members and many have said the same thing, i still cant trouble shoot a network and barley know how to subnet. If i were thrown into a company that asked me to troubleshoot a network i wouldn't even really know ware to start. My studies are based through netacade which im not a big fan of and as far as my server classes go like setting up a DHCP server or a WEB server, i have only done these once so im not exactly a pro or at a basic level proficient at it, but i did learn how to do those few times. The rest of the time is theory and theory on packet headers and the OSI model which is a subject that leaves the brain quickly if you dont work with it. I was thinking about going to a university after i finish the AA degree in hopes that i might get some hands on but am still unsure. I was in the military as a mechanic and i know that you actually learn the job once you start doing, cause the army cant train someone to be a mechanic in 3 months, takes allot of job assistance and continued training until i finally was a decent mechanic so i try to keep that thought process in my head, but this isn't 3 months of training, this is 2 long years and i still feel the same as when i completed the 3 months of mechanic training, i don't know anything. I was told that i can go buy some networking gear and do it at the house, but isn't that what im paying the school for and showing up 5 days a week and being forced to work knights for. So as for the question, i just wanted to know if any body had any advice. The beuro of labor statistics says the job field is e