Options

Need an opinion on my job...

Gpdriver17Gpdriver17 Member Posts: 27 ■□□□□□□□□□
I've been working in a NOC for about 4 months now, this is my first IT job. I have passed the CCNP Route and I'm ready to take the Switch exam, but keep stalling because this job confuses me about my career path. In the last 4 months there has been only been one time that I ever seen anything from my studies (CCNA/CCNP RS). Everything is so convoluted. For example I'll get a call from someone in India I can't understand and after 10 minutes I'll finally understand that Citrix servers are unreachable and that they are on the 10.23.143.49 subnet, which means about as much to me as it does to any of you. I have no access to network diagrams, have never been told how ANYTHING is set up or what we support. Then it turns out one of the Citrix servers was moved to a different VLAN and all the others communicated through it somehow? One more example, I got 8 A tickets the other day because ELV equipment wasn't connecting to wifi. ... I was never told we had wifi at any of our sites and didn't know what ELV equipment was. Every single day major problems come up with things I never knew we supported and don't even have access to work on and I'm the only person at work. Sometimes we even have customers call from companies I didn't know we supported! Not once has a problem ever had anything to do with anything on the CCNA/CCNP. So I don't know how to even go about learning networking (if this is a typical networking job). I have a feeling the company I work for isn't normal.